Gaby is taking pictures now!

We got a small camera for Gaby last week because she’s always trying to get my big camera and that seems to dangerous for my budget, besides she can not carry my SLR camera is too heavy for her, so we thought a small point and shoot camera would work for her. She got a nice Nikon Coolpix and it is waterproof! It is a kid friendly camera and you can add decorations to your pictures ( something kids love doing, specially girls with flowers and hearts borders) and very quick she figure out the whole thing. The problem is that she photographs anything and everything, even different kinds of carpets, ceilings, lamps, shampoo bottles, her toes, her brother’s wet head, herself on the mirror, us in very not so nice looking positions, but I guess that is the idea of giving a kid a camera, specially at such a young age. We want to encourage her to take pictures and print them and star her own album already, who knows maybe there’s a little Ansel Adams in her, Robert Capa, or would love if she comes out being some kind of Leibovitz!! Might be the photographer in me that never was, and want to project it into her, it doesn’t matter, it is a good hobby for her. I am already thinking of getting her a little sewing machine for christmas and star teaching her how to sew, she is always asking me “when mama, when are you going to teach how to make dresses like you?”. She’s getting it for sure!!

I want to share with you a “few” images that she has taken in the first week with her camera.

Le compramos una cámara pequeña a Gaby la semana pasada porque ella siempre esta queriendo agarrar mi cámara grande y eso parece muy peligroso para mi presupuesto, además ni puede cargar mi SLR es demasiado pesada para ella, asi que pensamos que una camarita Point and Shoot funcionaría para ella. Le compramos una Nikon Coolpix y es a prueba de agua! Es bastante fácil de usar para los niños y hasta puedes agregarle decoraciones a las fotos ( algo que los niños les encanta hacer, especialmente a las niñas y ponerle flores y corazones en los bordes) y muy rápido decifro las funciones y todo. el problema es que le toma foto a todo y cualquier cosa desde tipos de alfombras, techos, lamparas, botellas de shampoo, sus dedos, la cabeza mojada de su hermano, ella misma en el espejo, a nosotros en posiciones que no nos hacen vernos bien, pero supongo que esa era la idea, mas a esta edad. Queremos animarla a que tome fotos y que las imprima y así empezar su propio album, quien sabe a lo mejor hay un pequeño Ansel Adams en ella, Robert Capa o me encantaría aun mas que terminara siendo una Leibovitz!! De seguro es el fotógrafo en mi que nunca fue que hace que lo proyecte en ella, pero no importa es un buen pasatiempo para ella. Ya estoy pensando en conseguirle una maquinita de coser para navidad y enseñarle a coser, ella siempre me pregunta ” cuando mama, cuando me vas a enseñar a hacer vestido como tu?”. Se la compro seguritoooo!!!!

Quiero compartir con ustedes unas “pocas” imagenes de las que he ella ha tomado en esta primer semana con su cámara.

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

One thought on “Gaby is taking pictures now!

Leave a Reply

