Family, some sewing and last days of summer!

He escrito este post dos veces, esta es la segunda y espero que no se vuelva a borrar…como me saca de onda esto que se borre justo cuando estoy a punto de publicar. En fin, hemos tenido un mes no tan ocupado pero interesante, suficiente para mantenernos algo movidos por aquí. Primero tuvimos la visita muy grata de familiares visitándonos desde Alemania, la familia Von Elsner, Dirk y Sia (espero sea la manera correcta de escribir su nombre, sino mis disculpas anticipadas), Sia es la hija de la esposa de mi suegro. Me agrado mucho volver a verla a ella y los niños y su esposo. Los niños estan ya grandes pero tienen una paciencia o por lo menos son buenos para jugar con chiquitines como los míos, especialmente con Gaby. Mi hija quería hasta irse a dormir con todos a la casa de los abuelos, pero creo que Astrid tenía sus manos llenas y sobre todo porque el abuelo Thomas esta malito de salud pero ya pronto se sentirá mejor y podremos volver a la rutina de antes, o sea a comer quesos, pasteles, chuletones ahumados, cervecitas, chorizito en fin ya no sigo o lo haré sufrir a mi pobre viejo.

Hace una semana tuvimos otra visita de Alemania otra vez, en esta ocasión fue la familia Holst, un primo de Felipe vino a pasar vacaciones a Canada pero también por cuestiones de trabajo. Catherine su esposa me cayó tan bien, una linda chica, buena mamá con su chiquito Lenni y con un buen sentido del humor y lo mejor de todo una mujer simple y fácil de complacer, de esas mujeres ya no hay muchas pues habemos mujeres que nos complicamos la vida por cosas tontas como ropa, zapatos, maquillaje o todo ese tipo de vanalidades pero bueno, cada quien en lo suyo, ella fue para mi una mujer con quien se puede hablar tranquilo y de lo que sea.

Al mismo tiempo he podido hacer un par de cositas por aquí, aunque no en la cantidad que tenia planeado pero algo es algo. El colegio ya pronto inicia y solo es esta semana de vacación y el miércoles cinco Gaby inicia clases. Ya esta inscrita en clases de natación y de baile, que por cierto irá al mismo lugar donde dos de sus mejores amigos Nathan y Caprice van, ellos son compañeritos en el colegio también.

Espero esten todos aprovechando lo que resta del verano, no puedo creer que he tenido que poner la calefacción como en tres ocaciones pues en la madrugada se siente el frío ademas de la excusa de tener un calentador nuevo y aire acondicionado nuevo en toda la casa.

En El Salvador ha estado temblando bastante ultimamente y ayer hubo uno grande con amenaza de tsunami, pero no ha pasado nada malo o trágico hasta el momento, hace un par de horas mi hermano me dijo que había vuelto a temblar, ojalá no sea nada malo.

No queria terminar mi post con una nota mala pero es lo que esta pasando en este momento.

Feliz Lunes a todos y gracias por visitar mi blog.

I have written this post twice now, this is the second time and hopefully it won’t erase again…this really drives me nuts when I’m about to publish something and all of the sudden is gone. Anyways, we have had a not so busy month but interesting, enough to keeps us moving here. First we had a nice visit from relatives visiting from Germany, the Von Elsner family, Dirk and Sia ( I hope I’m writting her name correctly, otherwise I’m sorry), Sia is the daughter of my father in law’s wife. I really liked seeing her again, her kids and her husband. The kids are already big, but have enough patience to play with  my little ones, specially Gaby. My Gaby wanted to go to the grandparents house and sleepover with everybody there, but I think Astrid had her hands full and mainly because Abuelo Thomas is a little sick right now but soon he will feel better and we can get back to our old routine, that is eating lots of cheese, cakes, smoked pork chops, beer, chorizos, I’ll stop here so I don’t make my poor old man suffer.

A week ago we had another visit from Germany again, in this case was the Holst family, Felipe’s cousin came for vacation to Canada but he came to do some work as well. I liked his wife Catherine so much, lovely girl, good mama to her son Lenni and with a great sense of humour, and the best of all is that she was a very simple girl and easy to please, one of those women that you don’t see much out there anymore, there are women that complicate their lives over superficial stuff like clothes, shoes and make up, but well, every person enjoys what they do, and to me she was a girl that you could talk about anything in a very relax way.

At the same time I have been able to make a few things here and there, although not the amount that I wanted or had planned to, but at least is something. School starts next week and this week is last week of vacation, wednesday the fifth Gaby starts classes. She’s already registered for swimming classes and dance classes, by the way she will go to the same place that her two best friends go to, Nathan and Caprice, they are classmates at school too.

I hope everybody is taking advantage of the last bit of summer, I can not believe I have already use my heating about three times now, but in the morning around 3 it gets chilli here, and that gives an excuse to use my new furnace and air conditioning in the whole house!

Meanwhile, in El Salvador they have been experiencing some earthquakes for the last week and just yesterday they had a big one but the epicentre was in the ocean, that led to Tsunami alerts but then nothing happened, a couple of hours ago my brother told me that another one was felt in the city, hopefully nothing bad happens.

I didn’t want to end my post with bad news, but that’s what’s going on right now.

Happy monday to everybody and thanks for visiting my blog.

ImageImage 

Both boys playing (Basti and Lenni)

Image

Sorry everybody, this was the best shot I got from you all.

Image

Gaby taking a break from the littliest!!

ImageImageImage

I made this skirt for Gaby. The fabric is from Michael Miller, you can’t see well here but is brown and minty green polka dots.

Image

Gaby said she wanted to pose up in the air!! Another skirt this one the fabric is from Alexander Henry, beautiful print and I should have bought more of this.

Image

My first Tova Tunic. I love this fabric I bought at my local shop The Greewood Quiltery just a week ago. I made a tiny little mistake on the yoke but you can’t see much, but it bugs me. I like it and can not wait to make another one. This is not my best photo, but my photographer was tired I think, this one was the most decent one.

Image

I made the cutest Kimono set for Basti last week. This is out a Batik fabric from The Greewood Quiltery. Beatiful boy, and beautiful kimono!

Image

I tried to get a nice shot of Basti walking with his Kimono, but this boy is on the run all the time.

And last but not least…

Image

Seeing this kids playing together is the best experience I have ever had. You can see a proud father in the back. I enjoy the chance to be able to make their clothes, for a seamstress this is the cream on top of the pie, sew beautiful stuff that fits, that they wear over and over again. If I make something that they wear only once for a photo, is not worth it and it was a waste of money, so I always try to pick the right patterns, fabrics and notions.

2 thoughts on “Family, some sewing and last days of summer!

    • thank you for stopping by my blog. I like surf but scare of waters since little, but in El Salvador where I’m from we have pretty amazing places for surfing that me and my husband used to visit every weekend to spend hours by the beach and watching people doing surfing. I like your blog and it is nice to discover places like this early in the morning here in Canada!!! Cheers!!!!

Leave a Reply

