El Salvador Easter trip Part 1

A finales del mes de Marzo hice un viaje corto a El Salvador con los niños. Nuestro plan original fue pasar las fiestas navideñas con familia pero los boletos estaban por las nubes de caros y decidimos posponerlo y viajar en una temporada baja, Semana Santa no es temporada baja pero para muchos hermanos lejanos es más fácil viajar en Navidad que en temporada de pascua. Logramos conseguir boletos aunque no muy baratos pero por lo menos podría pasar unos días con mi familia y amigos. Mi esposo se quedó en casa limpiando, ordenando, arreglando, pintando paredes y planeando nuestra mudanza a San Francisco que con suerte sucederá a mediados de Junio.

At the end of March I made a short trip to El Salvador with the kids. Our original plan was to spend Christmas there with the family but ticket prices were up the sky in prices so we decided to postponed the whole thing and make the trip another time when it wasn’t a “high season”, Holly Week or what we call here Easter is not low season for lots of our “paisanos” outside El Salvador, but for them it is a lot easier to travel during Christmas Holidays. We were able to get kind of cheap tickets and this made it possible to spend some time with my family and friends. My husband stayed home doing some heavy cleaning, organizing, fixing things up, painting walls and planning our moving to San Francisco that hopefully it will happen in mid June of this year, two months from now!

Image

Yo y una de mis dos grandes mejores amigas. Gaby con mi amiga y Belindita en mis piernas.

Me and one of my two best friends. Gaby with my friend and Belindita on my lap.

Image

Mi querido y adorado hermano menor Robert. Fuimos a un pueblo llamado Apaneca, allí hay muchas plantaciones de café o fincas-haciendas, también lindos restaurantes y tiendas donde comprar y visitar. El mural en esta foto es de una artista local y si no me equivoco es amiga o conocida de mi mejor amiga, El Salvador es tan pequeño que todos conocen a todos!

My dear baby brother Robert. We went up to a town called Apaneca, there are a lot of coffee plantations up there and nice restaurants and stores to visit. The mural was painted by a local artist and if I’m not wrong is a friend of my best friend, El Salvador is so small that everybody knows everybody.

Image

Mi hermano y su linda esposa Nuria en Apaneca.

My brother and his lovely wife Nuria in Apaneca.

ImageImageImageImage

Esto fue en las montañas frontera con Honduras al Este, en la casa de mis papás. El clima allá es perfecto y los niños les gustaba que no había calor o mosquitos, además hay un silencio increíble, solo se escuchan las gallinas, gallos, algunos perros y muchos pajaritos cantar.

This was up in the mountains border with Honduras to the east, at my parents place. The weather there is perfect and the kids like it so much that there’s no heat or mosquitos, and it is very quiet, just chickens, roosters, some dogs and lots of birds singing!

Image

La casa con las Buganvilias o Veraneras es la casa de mis padres. Hicimos caminatas con los niños todos los días en la mañana. Mañana regresare con mas fotos de este viaje.

The house with the buganvilias is my parents. We would go out for a morning walk with the kids everyday! I will come back tomorrow for more photos of this trip.

Leave a Reply

