Poppies, Big Poppie Flower dress for G

It’s been too long since I wrote something here. I can’t believe sometimes I can’t make it to the computer and sit for 45 minutes and write something. I try to set up a schedule and come here at least every 10 or 15 days, but either I’m lazy or I’m a unorganized person with my time.

Anyways, enough complaining and justifying myself.

I made a dress for Gaby yesterday in the morning. First I thought of donating it to an auction here in Half Moon Bay next month, but the dress looks so pretty on her, so we are keeping it.

DSC_0265  DSC_0280

I love this print, the fabric I got it from HawthorneThreads Fabrics one my favorite places. I think this one is from Laura Gunn. My original plan and idea was to cut a dress that would involve a circle skirt, but that implies to use more fabric, and since this one comes in a 45″ width I find it harder to set a circle skirt on a narrow fabric. I don’t know, maybe it is possible. I will try it I think, because it does make a difference.

Now back to the photos

DSC_0285DSC_0320DSC_0277

Lighting was not my best friend yesterday, and Gaby was not really in the mood of posing, she still recovering from the Flu, but I mainly think it was more that posing for her mama’s constant sewing projects gets her moody. But we managed and were able to get good shots.

Oh, and the pattern I used (#15) for this dress is from this Japanese Pattern Book, I got it from my friend Megumi’s etsy shop.

FullSizeRender

DSC_0332DSC_0336

Even as a Cat. A friend of her from school and good friends of us too, got this cool mask for Gaby’s 7th birthday. She (the mom) got it on her way to London at New Orleans where they spent Christmas last year. Isn’t amazing!!! We used it yesterday as a photo prop, and since Gaby loves loves loves Cats this was another way to make the 10 minutes of photo shooting more dynamic.

Processed with Moldiv

IMG_1804

I have been trying to make some cute stuff for the Auction and I will donate this two baby girl dresses with doble gauze and linen bloomers. I love them, I wasn’t sewing like this when Gaby had this age, I wish I’ve had.

So I will make more stuff, I’m thinking two dress for bigger girls maybe 5 years and 7 and a pair of shorts and a button up shirt for a boy around 3 years old. I will post that once I’m done.

Happy Tuesday and keep on sewing!

4 thoughts on “Poppies, Big Poppie Flower dress for G

  1. Marisa how sweet of you, thank you for your words! Gaby was in a good mood, otherwise the “photo sessions” sometimes are hard or I don’t get what I really wanted. She likes to make silly faces these days! cheers!!!

Leave a Reply

