Bear shirt and a special Bow tie

Hello!! I want to share some photos of the shirt I made yesterday for my son Sebastián and his special request: A bow tie!

I’m in love with this fabric ” Bear Hug in White Metallic”  from Sarah Watts from her collection Black and White 2 . I only got one meter specifically for his shirt, but now I’m wondering if I should get some more for “future projects” or “future hoardings”. He’s having a celebration this Friday at school “Día del niño” or Childrens Day. It is a celebration that started after the first World War and the UN stablished November 20th as the official day. Universal Children’s Day is not simply a day to celebrate children for who they are, but to bring awareness to children around the globe that have succumbed to violence in forms of abuse, exploitation and discrimination.

Every country celebrates this day on different dates in the calendar. In  El Salvador ( where I’m from) is on October 1st, in Mexico is April 30th, in Canada is November 20th in Germany September 20th, Colombia last Saturday of April, etc. So I think we are going with Mexico this time.

Shirt was quick and easy, I used a very old pattern that I found at my  moms house a few years ago, it is a vintage one.  I added  like 3 cm to the hem and sleeves length as well.

The bow ties I got the pattern from Grainline Studio, this woman (Jen is such a genius when it comes to creating patterns, basic pieces but you can do so many things with them. She has the tutorial and free pattern for this bow tie on her blog, it is meant for adults so I made it smaller so it would fit Basti. They are so quick to make and easy, now he’s asking for a necktie, and I’m searching for a good pattern for that, actually neckties scare me a little, they seem more complex with the folding and stitching…anyways, here are the photos of my little guy.

IMG_8959IMG_8951IMG_8944IMG_8946

He was so excited and happy while I was taking these photos, and then he lost his motivation…

IMG_8964IMG_8961

And I said: Actually I like it like that too (sad) and he cheered up again!

IMG_8962IMG_8967

He says the blue bow is for Ernie (Sesame Street character, and old old stuffy that used to be my husband’s when he was 3 or 4)

Which bowtie  you like the most, I like both and love this shirt so much.

Thank you for visiting, have a wonderful week!!!!

 

Leave a Reply

